Review: Walking with Nanak by Haroon Khalid

Title: Walking with Nanak

Author: Haroon Khalid

Length: 314 pages

Publisher: Tranquebar

Publication Date: January 28, 2018

Genre: Travelogue, Historical, Non-Fiction

My rating: 5/5

Summary:

The book is a travelogue cum memoir undertaken by the author wherein he travelled to all the places where Guru Nanak, the first Guru of Sikhs travelled. The book also has the tales associated with Guru Nanak and also the 9 other Gurus of Sikhs.

My Take:

I was offered this book as a part of free book for the month being an Amazon Prime member. I am absolutely in love with this book which made me undertake a journey taken by Guru Nanak and in whose ideologies I totally believe in.

Maximum shrines associated with Guru Nanak are a part of Pakistan today. Author did a fabulous job of visiting those places and reporting the reality of these places post partition of India and Pakistan. Each and every shrine has a story associated with it and they are narrated brilliantly bringing to life the era of Guru Nanak Devji.

I did believe in Guru Nanak as am born in a Punjabi family, however I have now started worshipping him more than ever before. The ideologies presented in the book of Guru Nanak are what I always questioned and believed.

Though I did feel a bit sad reading about the condition of all the shrines associated with Guru Nanak in Pakistan today. In fact I wasn’t even aware that there are so many places where the Shrines are located. I would have loved to visit those places but reading the pitiful condition I would refrain.

I loved the way the author has narrated the stories in a neutral manner. The book also takes us through a brief journey of all the 9 Gurus of Sikh religion. It also depicts the changes ideologies of Sikh religion today compared to what Guru Nanak preached.

I loved this book and this book would always remain in my memory as a brilliant book.

One comment

  1. On reading the review of the book by Roma, I am going to buy the book as early as possible.

    Like

Leave a comment